The Seven Chakras and What They Mean

What are Chakras?

Chakras were first found mentioned in ancient Hindu texts in India from as early as 1500 B.C. Chakras are like whirlpools of energy that regulate the flow of chi through and in and out of the body. They flow at different speeds with different vibration frequencies.

Chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning wheel. There are many ancient versions of chakras but most common is the thought of seven main chakras that correspond to the seven main nerve ganglia that branch off of the spinal column. There are about twenty one minor chakras. Chakras are connected by energy lines in the body that are referred to as nadis. All of these chakra points are used as points in many therapies such as acupuncture, acupressure and cupping.

How Many Chakras are There?

Chakras are constantly moving and they are the energy that creates your aura. Each of the seven layers of the aura is associated with a particular chakra, one of the seven endocrine glands and with a group of nerves called a plexus. Chakras provide energy to the metabolic, glandular, immune, nervous, circulatory, respiratory, digestive, reproductive and musculoskeletal systems. They can be damaged by grief, accidents, conflicts, fears, loss, anxiety and stress. This can lead to many diseases and disorders. Many believe that the health of our chakras determines the health of our bodies.

  • The First Chakra is called the Root Chakra and it is located at the base of the spine. This chakra influences the spinal column, the legs and feet, kidney, rectum, immune system, bladder, blood and the male reproductive organs.
  • The Second Chakra is called the Sacral Chakra and it is located below the navel. This chakra is involved with the kidney, bladder, pancreas, sex organs, skin, stomach, spleen, liver, gall bladder, upper intestines and the middle of the spine.
  • The Third Chakra is called the Solar Plexus Chakra and it is located above the navel behind the solar plexus. This chakra relates to the kidney, stomach, spleen, liver, gall bladder, upper abdomen, digestive tract, adrenals, small intestines and the middle of the spine.
  • The Fourth Chakra is called the Heart Chakra and it is located at the middle of the chest. The Heart Chakra corresponds to the heart, blood, lungs, esophagus, breasts, arms and hands, circulatory system, rib cage, thymus, shoulders and diaphragm.
  • The Fifth Chakra is called the Throat Chakra and it is located at the middle of the throat. The Fifth Chakra has interactions with the lungs, esophagus, arms, thyroid, throat, trachea, neck vertebrae, mouth, teeth, gums and nerves.
  • The Sixth Chakra is called the Brow Chakra and it is located at the center of the forehead. This unique chakra, sometimes referred to as the third eye, finds its connection with the Pineal gland, ears, eyes, nose, Pituitary gland and the brain.
  • The Seventh Chakra is called the Crown Chakra and it is located at the top of the head. This chakra effects the brain, the nervous system and the Pineal and Pituitary glands.


Please read this disclaimer regarding the information you have just read.